CILIP Carnegie Medal – previous winners

Carnegie Medal Longlist 2018

The Tale of Angelino Brown by David Almond
The Hypnotist by Laurence Anholt
Overheard in a Tower Block Joseph Coelho
Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans (shortlist)
The Island at the End of Everything by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
The Song from Somewhere Else by A.F. Harrold
After the Fire by Will Hill (shortlist)
Welcome to Nowhere by Elizabeth Laird
Out of Heart by Irfan Master
A Berlin Love Song by Sarah Matthias
Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean (shortlist)
Rook by Anthony McGowan (shortlist)
Release by Patrick Ness (shortlist)
The Call by Peadar O’Guilin
Black Light Express by Philip Reeve
The Explorer by Katherine Rundell
Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick (shortlist)
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (shortlist)
Encounters by Jason Wallace
Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk (shortlist)

Carnegie Medal Longlist 2017

Aubrey and the Terrible Yoot by Horatio Clare
Sputnik’s Guide to Life on Earth by Frank Cottrell Boyce (shortlisted)
Unbecoming by Jenny Downham
The Bone Sparrow by Zana Fraillon (shortlisted)
How Not to Disappear by Clare Furniss
The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock (shortlisted)
Whisper to Me by Nick Lake
Beetle Boy by M.G. Leonard
The Stars at Oktober Bend by Glenda Millard (shortlisted)
Pax by Sara Pennypacker
Railhead by Philip Reeve (shortlisted)
Beck by Mal Peet with Meg Rosoff (shortlisted)
Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt
The Marvels by Brian Selznick
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (winner)
Island by Nicky Singer
Dreaming the Bear by Mimi Thebo
Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford
Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk (shortlisted)
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Carnegie Medal Longlist 2016

Book by John Agard
A Song For Ella Grey by David Almond
One by Sarah Crossan (winner)
The Earth Is Singing by Vanessa Curtis
The Door That Led To Where by Sally Gardner
The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge (shortlisted)
The Imaginary by A.F. Harrold
There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake (shortlisted)
We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Neilsen
The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness (shortlisted)
Jessica’s Ghost by Andrew Norriss
Panther by David Owen
Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett
Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders (shortlisted)
The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick (shortlisted)
Thirteen Chairs by Dave Shelton
Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley (shortlisted)
Fire Colour One by Jenny Valentine (shortlisted)
My Name’s Not Friday by Jon Walter
Liccle Bit by Alex Wheatle

Carnegie Medal Longlist 2015

My Brother’s Shadow by Tom Avery
Us Minus Mum by Heather Butler
When Mr. Dog Bites by Brian Conaghan (shortlist)
Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan (shortlist)
The Company of Ghosts by Berlie Doherty
The Year of the Rat by Clare Furniss
Tinder by Sally Gardner (author) and David Roberts (illustrator) (shortlist)
Monkey and Me by David Gilman
Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge
The Fastest Boy in the World by Elizabeth Laird (shortlist)
Buffalo Soldier by Tanya Landman (winner)
Scarlet Ibis by Gill Lewis
The Middle of Nowhere by Geraldine McCaughrean (shortlist)
Hello Darkness by Anthony McGowan
More Than This by Patrick Ness (shortlist)
Close Your Pretty Eyes by Sally Nicholls
Trouble by Non Pratt
Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff
Smart: a Mysterious Crime, a Different Detective by Kim Slater
Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

Carnegie Medal Longlist 2014

The Boy Who Swam with Piranhas by David Almond
All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry (shortlisted)
The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks (winner)
The Child’s Elephant by Rachel Campbell-Johnston (shortlisted)
Ghost Hawk by Susan Cooper (shortlisted)
After Tomorrow by Gillian Cross
Heroic by Phil Earle
Blood Family by Anne Fine (shortlisted)
Infinite Sky by C. J. Flood
Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn
Monkey Wars by Richard Kurti
Hostage Three by Nick Lake
The Positively Last Performance by Geraldine McCaughrean
Brock by Anthony McGowan
Binny for Short by Hilary McKay
Far Far Away by Tom McNeal
Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher
Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell (shortlisted)
Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead (shortlisted)
The Wall by William Sutcliffe (shortlisted)

Carnegie Medal 2013 Shortlist

Wonder by RJ Palacio
The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossen
A Greyhound of a Girl by Roddy Doyle
Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner (winner)
In Darkness by Nick Lake
Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
A Boy and a Bear in a Boat by Dave Shelton
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Carnegie Medal Winners 2009 -2012

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (2012)
Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness (2011)
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (2010)
Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd (2009)

Full archive list available here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s