Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

If you like fantasy, read on: this could be the series for you.


Celaena Sardothien returns to Rifthold to face down the people who took her loved ones from her. She has learnt to accept her real identity, Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen and is ready to claim what is rightly hers. However, the path of revenge does not run smoothly and there are many fights, monsters and threats to deal with along the way. She meets up with her old love Chaol and together they find a way to work together to try and fight the evil spread by King Ardalan. As Aelin faces the dangers of Rifthold, Manon and the her coven of witches are still in Morath. As time develops Manon finds herself questioning what is happening around her and the role she is expected to play.

The pace of the adventure in this series makes them both addictive and exhausting. The book is packed with bloody fights, monsters, magic, sinister plans and danger. The author doesn’t sugarcoat the evil in the book and her characters are all flawed, even Aelin, and it is these flaws that make them believable and likeable. Nether does the author protect young love for the sake of her readers; in some case loved ones die and in others love shrivels. There is sadness in this book and darkness too, the moments of happiness are less present although there is the promise of hope and better, albeit difficult, times ahead. This is an important book in the series as it explains much of what has taken place in previous books, it establishes important relationships and sets up the next part of the tale. However, it is also confusing at times given the large cast of characters. As a result I did not find it an easy read but I was still enthralled and I marvel at the world that Sarah J Maas has imagined and created.The Throne of Glass Series

throne  heir  crown  thirns

Queen of Shadows is the fourth book in this six book series. The previous books are listed below and you can follow this link to read a review of each of them.

  1. Throne of Glass
  2. Crown of Midnight
  3. Heir of Fire

Sarah J Maas has also published another book, A Court of Throne and Roses. This is also a fantasy book and is part of a trilogy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s