What’s On My YA TBR Pile?


I always have a pile of books waiting to be read and mostly I enjoy debating which book to pick up next. Sometimes, though, I feel overwhelmed by all I plan to read and I stare at the titles and don’t feel inspired. However, that is not the case at the moment. I have a long and interesting list of books to read – it is simply a question of where to start and how to find the time!

Some of the books haven’t been released yet so I can pace myself and it is nice knowing that there are books waiting for me the read in the coming months. No doubt other books will grab my attention and be added to this list – my TBR pile is never static – but for now this is what I’m looking at and, with the sun shining through my window, I’m going to start with Blue. Reviews will be posted on my website as soon as I finish a book.

Already released:

 blue       waltz       buffalo

 

An Island of Our Own by Sally Nicholls – this author has written some excellent books (All Fall Down, Close Your Pretty Eyes) and this book looks interesting with a hunt to find a family’s inheritance.

Blue by LIsa Glass – this looks like a enjoyable, light summer romance read. Perfect now the sun is out and spring is definitely in the air.

Buffalo Soldier by Tanya Landman – shortlisted for the Carnegie Awards this is the story of an African American slave at the time of the US Civil War.

Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan – shortlisted for the Carnegie Award this is the story about a young girl whose mother returns after an eleven year absence. Sarah Crossan’s previous book, The Weight of Water, was a very enjoyable read and hopefully this will be as good or better.

Tinder by Sally Gardner – shortlisted for the Carnegie Award this book looks beautiful and interesting. Maggot Moon was an interesting and unusual story and I am looking forward to getting lost in this new book.

Invitation to the Waltz by Rosamond Lehman – I loved reading books by this author when I was in my late teens so I decided to take a trip down memory lane and read this book and see what I think of it and whether it will appeal to teens today.

isalnd   tinder    apple

Still to be Released:

fire   milecules   liberty   boymost

The Last Summer of Us by Maggie Harcourt – due for release 1st May. Three teens on a road trip, trying to escape their troubles.

Liberty’s Fire by Lydia Syson – this book comes out on 7th May. I have enjoyed other books by this author (A World Between Us set in the Spanish Civil War) and I am looking forward to reading about the era covered in this book – Paris in 1871.

We are Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen – due for release on 7th May. I read The Reluctant Journal of Henry K Larsen and found it fascinating and I’m looking forward to reading about geeky Stewart and cool Ashley.

Remix by Non Pratt – due for release on 4th June. I enjoyed reading Trouble  and this book looks interesting: it is about boys, bands and best mates.

Ghosts of Shanghai by Julian Sedgwick – Shanghai, 1920’s, ghosts – sounds good!

Fire Colour One by Jenny Valentine – due for release on 2nd July. I love this author (Broken Soup, Finding Violet Park, The Double Life of Cassiel Roadnight), her books are unusual and thought provoking. This book is about love, lies and redemption. Looking forward to it!

The Boy Most Likely to by Huntley Fitzpatrick – due for release on 18th August. My Life Next Door was an enjoyable and fun read and this is the story Tim and Alice who appear in My Life Next Door.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – this is the last book in The Raven Boys Quartet and I am going to have to wait until September to read it!

last   boymost   remix

Leave a Reply

