YA Books Around the World – Part 1 – Europe


Valentine’s Day is over, so time to put aside the fascination with all things romance. Instead, inspired by the daffodils poking their heads above ground, I’m thinking of warm days and holidays. My mind has been flitting over places I’d like to visit and from there I was inspired to list YA books set in different countries. I won’t cover every country – so feel free to fill in the missing places.

europemax21

England – quite a choice here but I love Suffolk so I’ve opted for I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith.

FranceRooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

ItalyA Room with a View by E M Forster

SpainA World Between Us by Lydia Syson

Lithuania/RussiaBetween Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

Czech RepublicCabinet of Curiosities by Paul Dowswell

HollandSilent Saturday’s by Helen Grant

IrelandBog Child by Siobhan Dowd

GreeceGods and Warriors by Michelle Paver

I have purposefully not included WW2 books set in Germany as I didn’t want to define Germany by that time period, but that still leaves plenty of countries unaccounted for. What have I overlooked?

One comment

  1. What about Denmark and maybe the Shamer’s Daughter by Lene Kaaberbøl? I haven’t read it myself, but I know a lot of my friends loves it! (I’m from Denmark btw) 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

