Half Term Reading Feast


Today I’ve taken a break from reading to set up this blog but I’m looking forward to returning to my pile of books and carrying on my reading frenzy. So far this week I have read, and enjoyed, Allegiant by Veronica Roth, Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff and Russian Roulette by Anthony Horowitz. Still waiting for me are Split Second by Sophie McKenzie, She Is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick and The Double Life of Cassiel Roadnight by Jenny Valentine.

The three books I have read so far are very different and will appeal to a range of readers. Divergent fans will be keen to read the final book in the trilogy. It has been interesting to read the reactions of readers so far: some fans seem quite distraught by the turn the series has taken. I enjoyed it and am thinking over how to squeeze all my thoughts into my review.

Russian Roulette was good fun. I had enjoyed reading Anthony Horowitz’s tweets as he carried out his research for the book and it was fun to see how his research had been put to use. Future readers of the Alex Rider series will need to remember to read this book last so as not to lose any of the suspense in the series.

I only finished Picture Me Gone last night and the book is still playing with the edges of my mind. It’s a great book but that’s easy to say – I need to find the right words so that my review does it justice.

If my next set of books are half as good, this will have been a heavenly reading break!

Leave a Reply

